Author Topic: Reverse Engineer  (Read 1834 times)

gritsoft

• EA Novice
  • I love Enterprise Architect 5.0
    • View Profile
Reverse Engineer
« on: October 18, 2005, 04:25:22 am »
hi,

i am new to ea and my main focus is on reverse engineer.

setting up some source folders for reversing i noticed that ea does not show any associations between packages

???is this true?

to get more info i tried this case

creating two packages in logical view with classes

A (package)
A1 (class)
A2 (class)
A1 has an association to A2
B (package)
B1 (class)
B2 (class)
B2 has an association to B1 and A1

when draging both packages (A, B) on a new model ea does not show the association derived from the association of B1 to A1

???is this true or im going wrong?

:othere seems to be also a bug

using this example

A (package)
Class1 (class)
Class2 (class)
A.Class1 has an association to A.Class2
B (package)
Class1 (class)
Class2 (class)
B.Class2 has an association to B.Class1 and A.Class1

the association B.Class1 to A.Class1 in the properties folder link of B.Class1 is not listet. ea does not recognize that A.Class1 is not B.Class1

thanks for any help

Oliver Michalski

• EA User
    • View Profile
Re: Reverse Engineer
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2005, 09:49:01 am »
Hi,

I am something confused. In your model you have associations between classes not packages. I have tried your model and i can see all association at each time. I can't reconstruct your error.

Oliver  ???

gritsoft

• EA Novice
  • I love Enterprise Architect 5.0
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2005, 12:52:52 am »
hi,

yes its true the associations are defined between the classes in packages.

but my first example also defines an association between class B2 of package B and class A1 of package A. this results indirectly to an association of package B and package A because the implementation of class B2 in package B wont work without the implementation of class A1 in package A.