Please note : This help page is not for the latest version of Enterprise Architect. The latest help can be found here.

Prev Next


Getting to know the Testing



Introducing the Testing

Enterprise Architect has a number of tools that can be used for modeling aspects of the test discipline. The Testing Window is the central tool for creating and managing tests, allowing a range of different test types to be defined including properties such as status and the results of tests to be recorded.

Where to find the Testing

Ribbon: Construct > Testing > Test Windows > All, Inspection, Unit, Integration, System, Acceptance, Scenario

Element Browser: | Testing | All, Inspection, Unit, Integration, System, Acceptance, Scenario

Usage of the Testing

The Testing window allows a number of different types of tests to be created and managed. These cover the most common types of testing and include:

  • Unit tests - to test Classes, Components and other elements as they are implemented
  • Integration tests - to test how the implemented artifacts and components work together
  • System tests - to test that the system performs the right business functions correctly
  • Acceptance tests - to test the system against user requirements and acceptance and evaluation criteria
  • Scenario tests - to test the application with real-world situations and scenarios
  • Inspection tests - to record peer reviews using a well-defined process

Options for the Testing

The Testing Window allows a modeler to record metadata for the tests, including:

  • The name of the Test
  • The status of the test
  • Who the Test was run by
  • The Type of Test (such as Regression)
  • Who it was Checked by
  • The Class of Test (such as Acceptance)
  • The Date it was last run
  • Description of the Test
  • Inputs required
  • Acceptance Criteria
  • Results

Learn more about the Testing